Top 5 Songs about Death

A Memorable quote from High Fidelity :

Barry: Top 5 songs about death. A Laura’s Dad tribute list, okay? Okay. Leader of the Pack. The guy fuckin’ beefs it on his motorcycle and dies, right? Dead Man’s Curve. Jan & Dean.
Dick: Do you know that right after they recorded that song Jan himself crashed his car…
Barry: It was Dean you fuckin’ idiot…
Rob: It was Jan. It was a long time after the song.
Barry: Okay, whatever. Tell Laura I Love Her. That would bring the house down – Laura’s Mom could sing it. You know what I’d want? One Step Beyond by Madness. And, uh, You Can’t Always Get What You Want.
Dick: No. Immediate disqualification because of its involvement with The Big Chill.
Barry: Oh God. You’re right!
Dick: Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald – Gordon Lightfoot.
Barry: You bastard! That’s so good – that should have been mine… The night Laura’s daddy died. Sha na na na na na na na na! Brother what a night it really was. Mother what a night it really… angina’s tough! Glory be!

The making of a great compilation tape, is hard to do and takes ages longer than it might seem. You gotta kick off with a killer, to grab attention. Then you got to take it up a notch, then you got to cool it off a notch. There are a lot of rules. Anyway… I’ve started to make a tape… in my head…

—– end quote

8 Responses to Top 5 Songs about Death

  1. Brenon says:

    One problem, it’s spelled “Edmund Fitzgerald.” Great quote, great movie.

  2. Matthew says:

    Thanks @Brenon, my bad for not checking the spelling, I appreciate the correction and have changed the post.

    This post was written when I was looking for just such a list after my grandfather had just passed away. Somehow I found the humour in this quote and it helped, if only for a few moments, to get through the more difficult parts of that week. I hope it likewise can help others in a similar situation.

  3. free songz says:

    Well I was just searching on Google for some videos and songs of my favorite singers and just came across your blog, generally I just visit blogs and retrieve my required information but this time the useful information that you posted in this post compelled me to reply here and appreciate your good work. I just bookmarked your blog :).

  4. hey Friend , i read with u write. LOL Please come to my blog

  5. Hay Dude , i love with ur web blog. i am coming again to your blog my friend. Do u have new post or good news ? Admin of http://www.gmurak.com/

  6. […] Starting my musical mourning with ‘Leader of the Pack’ from the Top 5 Songs About Death. […]

  7. Darmowy Katalog Stron…

    […]Top 5 Songs about Death « A Dog’s Breakfast, part II[…]…

  8. mocny katalog…

    […]Top 5 Songs about Death « A Dog’s Breakfast, part II[…]…

Leave a Reply

