Keychain scripting letting the Twitters down

So posting to Twitter from Quicksilver is great and all, except when keychain scripting times out on you – “event timed out”. Again and again. Sheesh. Off to look for another way around …

Red Sweater Blog says :

Obviously, Keychain Scripting is freaking useless. I decided to take a stab at writing my own […]

Which is just what he did – in that article you can find a Scripting Addition (of sorts) that is way faster than Apple’s one. However it is 10.4 only, which may be the straw that broke this holdoff-on-upgrading-a-while-longer’s back.

Looking further afield leads us to the Textmate blog, where a shell based approach is used to interact with the keychain :

The command to access the keychain is security and it has a manual page. But let me save you some time and give you the gist of it […]

Aha! That may be the solution. Now all I have to do is find out how to parse the output to just grab the password – the solutions on that page aren’t working for me and my shell scripting is more limited than I would like.

Still diggin!

3 Responses to Keychain scripting letting the Twitters down

  1. Heh … ironically the latest idea to sneak into the back of my mind is to write a general purpose “Twitter Scripting” type scripting addition. So all apps (and users) could easily integrate with Twitter.

  2. I guess I should say “coincidentally” – not particularly ironic 🙂

  3. Matthew says:

    Well I found a solution – perhaps not the best available, but take a look and see what you think. At least i solved the shell scripting problems – it is because I wasn’t in a BASH shell. Good thing that’s easy to fix : put the command in a shell script that calls BASH.

Leave a Reply

