Beware the multitasking trap

Beware – Mind Bomb ahead!

The Autumn of the Multitaskers

Neuroscience is confirming what we all suspect: Multitasking is dumbing us down and driving us crazy. One man’s odyssey through the nightmare of infinite connectivity. […] We concentrate on the act of concentration at the expense of whatever it is that we’re supposed to be concentrating on.

This very interesting article goes a long way to explaining what we all secretly know – less really is more. Less interruptions, less email, less instant messaging, less podcasts, take all these away and just be mindful of the present. The now. The person, task or job in front of you. Do these one at a time and you will be more efficient for it.

One at a time, serial processing is now my personal productivity goal for 2008. For too long have I tried to do way too many things at once and deep down I feel drained. Stretched. Slower. This has changed since reading the article. Already I feel more competent than I have in a long while.

For me the next few days will be challenging, as I adopt my new mantra – “be mindful of the present.” I am certain this lesson has been taught by many of the great thinkers throughout the ages. Now it is my turn to take heed and benefit from this great piece of wisdom.

Leave a Reply

