Thursday, 25th August 2016

Trying a new thing here – capturing some thoughts of the day.

Careful, topics will vary since this is A Dog’s Breakfast.

A comment about my walks getting longer from an accountability buddy on my fitness tracker (Jawbone UP2 for anyone that cares) lead to a long walk at lunch, with three hill sprints! I blame the weather (Spring is close, I feel it in my bones) and that comment.

On the bright side, I caught a lot of Magikarp walking along the riverbank.

Despite the exercise, I didn’t get into the groove of the day work-wise. Managed to get a few brainless things done, a longer list of those will be handy next time brain decides to get-up-and-go.

In all the wandering mind moments, I recalled Merlin Mann talking about a new album in the old school prog metal genre on Back to Work “286: Secret Rap Name”

That’s how I discovered Dead Revolution by Hammers of Misfortune which I’ve listened to a few times now. It also lead to a nice exchange with @hotdogsladies himself (which is a thrill unto itself 🙂

Staying on the music front for a bit : Heavy Music Magazine on Facebook noted that Metallica’s “…And Justice for All”, their fourth album, was released on this day, 25 August in 1988.

Wow. So many memories. Remind me to tell you about “seeing them on tour, getting the t-shirt, being in a car rolling off mountain in that t-shirt and surviving” sometime.

 

Work day done I walked, as I do, over the bridge to find a tram or train. This sight stopped me : I paused for a moment of gratitude and snapped a pic. I love living in Melbourne, especially when it shares moments like these.

IMG_7747

Watched Dwayne & the Rock Clock on Graham Norton : originally aired on Friday 10th June 2016. Thanks Australian TV for random repeats in primetime. The Rock Clock is Dwayne’s app to help you reach your goals. Cute. It has an alarm and no snooze button, just The Rock saying things like “get your candy ass outta bed!” That was in my head the morning after!

Late to bed. Slept OK but.

Leave a comment